The Buell Public Media Center: Transforming the Media Landscape

Nearly a million people throughout Colorado turn to Rocky Mountain PBS to discover provocative and inspiring local, national and international programming; find diverse viewpoints; score front row center seats to world-class performances; and experience lifelong learning opportunities every month.

Rocky Mountain PBS is committed to being the leader in the reinvention of public media, which according to many media experts is not a choice, but a mandate. By changing Colorado’s public media landscape through an ambitious capital initiative, a replicable model of high-tech media collaboration, original programming and community involvement—all under one roof—will result. Every citizen of Colorado stands to benefit.

For Colorado’s public media leader to move forward, stay relevant and competitive, and take a leadership position in this amazing new era of integrated public media, a new building is essential. This is not a luxury, but a necessity. As we have long realized, greater public access, increasingly sophisticated production values, a more engaged statewide community, and consistent public forum involvement cannot happen at our current site.

Our new Buell Public Media Center will transform the landscape of how media is presented throughout the state.

Construction Updates

Buell Public Media Center Construction Time Lapse

Last Updated by Linda Kotsaftis on

Our new home at 21st and Arapahoe is looking good.

Read More

RMPM Celebrates Topping Off Ceremony

Last Updated by Rocky Mountain PBS on

Rocky Mountain Public Media celebrated the "topping off" of our new home at 21st and Arapahoe on Friday, July 19.

Read More

LIVE Construction Webcam: Watch Our Progress at 21st and Arapahoe

Last Updated by Laura Esterly on

Check out our LIVE construction webcam to see our latest progress.

Read More

Rocky Mountain Public Media Breaks Ground on Buell Public Media Center at 21st and Arapahoe in Denver

Last Updated by Joe Davidson on

Multi-Purpose Arts, Education and Journalism Facility to Make Public Media More Accessible to Coloradans.

Read More

Project Partners:

2015 Kellogg Org Logo.png

The Kellogg Organization, Inc. was founded in 1981 in Colorado and is recognized, nationally and internationally, as a specialist in transformational philanthropy through planning and implementing capital, endowment, program, and annual operating campaigns. The TKO team is proud to serve as campaign counsel for Rocky Mountain Public Media’s $30 million capital campaign for the Buell Public Media Center.

Tryba logo

Tryba Architects specializes in the full integration of architecture, urban design, preservation and planning. Throughout Tryba's 30-year history they have earned a national reputation for shaping and reshaping urban structures and systems into special places. Tryba's practice is driven by commitment to collaborate with clients in crafting detailed buildings and places intimately connected to function, people, nature and the built environment. Central to the work is sustainable, timeless design that reinterprets the past to meet the demands of the present, while being mindful of our responsibility to the future.

Mortenson logo

Serving Colorado for more than 36 years, Mortenson is a U.S.-based , family-owned construction and real estate development company. As one of the nation's top builders, Mortenson provides a complete range of construction services, including planning, program management, preconstruction, general contracting, construction management and design-build. The company also is a leader in real estate development, developing all asset types.  Mortenson has offices in Denver, Minneapolis, Chicago, Fargo, Iowa City, Madison, Milwaukee, Phoenix, Portland, San Antonio and Seattle, with international operations in Canada.


For additional information contact:
Kate S. McDonnell
Vice President of Leadership Giving

Chad Hollingsworth
Patty Pacey
Mary Sissel


Arthur Bosworth
Hubert A. Farbes, Jr.
Lisa Flores
James H. Foster
Ann Geldzahler
Andrew Hudson
David J. Leonard
Pat Loewi
Paula MacMillan
Katie MacWilliams
Terry Minger
Neil Peck
Joanne Posner-Mayer
Jeannie Ritter
Laura K. Sampson
Douglas Shand
Nancy Shea
Steve and Lenna Watson

Doug Price


Charles K. Monfort
Richard Ballantine
Dana H. Crawford
Peter and Rhondda Grant
Duke Hartman
Florence Hernandez
Gov. John Hickenlooper
Don Johnson
Paula Kerger
Roger Ogden
Daniel L. Ritchie
Bill Ritter
Donald Sturm